Board of Directors


Our Corporate Board of Directors brings a wealth of management talent and leadership. They are dedicated to providing organizational continuity, enhancing Pro2Serve’s programs and services, providing counsel and oversight, and ensuring the company is an active contributor to the communities where it is located. Board members and advisors include (left to right):
Dr. L. Barry Goss, Dr. Karen Goss, Maj. Gen. (ret.) Thomas F. Deppe, Homer Fisher, Dr. Bob Van Hook, Dr. Everet Beckner, Hugh Morgan, Paul Martin, and Alan Wade.


Dr. L. Barry Goss is Pro2Serve’s founder, CEO, and Chairman of the Board. He has more than 35 years of experience providing professional technical and business services to government and private industry. Prior to founding Pro2Serve, he built two other very successful professional services business units at Battelle Memorial Institute and Science Applications International Corporation. Dr. Goss also serves on the Board of Directors of numerous other community and business organizations.

Dr. Karen Goss serves as advisor to the Board. With more than 20 years of practice, teaching, and research in the field of physical therapy, Dr. Goss currently serves as Chair of the Science Department of South College. She previously held academic positions at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville and Chattanooga and at Tennessee Wesleyan College. She also served as consultant to the Department of Physical Therapy at East Tennessee State University. Dr. Goss served as a principal investigator in the Behavioral Laboratory at ORNL, where she conducted research correlating behavior to gene functions in mice. She later served as Director of the Behavior Laboratory for the Tennessee Mouse Genome Consortium at the University of Tennessee. Dr. Goss is actively involved in community outreach programs, serving in leadership roles with the March of Dimes and Mission of Hope. She also serves as a Special Olympics sponsor and as a volunteer for Remote Area Medical (RAM).

Maj. Gen. (ret.) Thomas F. Deppe is the former Vice Commander, Air Force Space Command, at Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado, where he assisted the Commander in the development, acquisition, and operation of the Air Force’s space and missile systems. General Deppe was commissioned in 1977 through Officer Training School. He has commanded a ground-launched cruise missile flight in NATO and a Minuteman II maintenance squadron in Air Combat Command. He also commanded a Minuteman III missile wing and an ICBM logistics group and was vice commander of a space launch wing in Air Force Space Command. The general has also served as Deputy Director for Operations at the National Military Command Center. He was Director, Logistics and Communications, Chief Information Officer, and Chief Sustainment Officer, Headquarters Air Force Space Command. He is a master missileer in both operations and maintenance (see Air Force bio).

Homer Fisher, Senior Vice President Emeritus of the University of Tennessee (UT) and the interim President of Oak Ridge Associated Universities, spent 38 years working in higher education, including 22 years at UT, before he retired in 1999. He was UT’s lead in forming UT-Battelle and winning the ORNL management and operating (M&O) contract. He served in several key leadership positions at UT, including Senior Vice President responsible for coordinating university-wide academic affairs, student affairs, sponsored research programs, and academic planning and assessment. Mr. Fisher manages UT’s Oak Ridge office and serves on several boards of local and regional educational and economic development organizations, including Oak Ridge Associated Universities, the East Tennessee Economic Council, the American Museum of Science and Energy, the Oak Ridge Chamber of Commerce, and Technology 2020.  

Dr. Robert Van Hook is the former President of Lockheed Martin Energy Systems (LMES). In that role, he guided operations of the Oak Ridge Y-12 Plant for DOE. Prior to joining LMES, Dr. Van Hook served as Executive Vice President of Lockheed Martin Energy Research Corporation. He spent more than 29 years with Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) in such roles as Deputy Director, Director of Environmental Sciences Division, and Director of the Center for Global Environmental Studies. He is a fellow of the AAAS, Chairman of the Board of Directors for Foothills Land Conservancy, and serves on the board of the East Tennessee Economic Council.

Dr. Everet H. Beckner is the former Deputy Administrator of the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) where he directed the Stockpile Stewardship Program responsible for maintaining the safety, security, and reliability of our Nation’s nuclear weapons stockpile. Prior to being confirmed as Deputy Administrator, Dr. Beckner was Vice President of Lockheed Martin Corporation, where he was Deputy Chief Executive at the Atomic Weapons Establishment in Aldermaston, United Kingdom, and Vice President of Technical Operations. Before joining Lockheed Martin, he was the Energy Department’s Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Defense Programs. For more than 28 years, he held senior leadership positions at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico, including Vice President, Defense Programs; Vice President, Energy Programs; and Director, Waste Management Programs. Dr. Beckner is a fellow of the American Physical Society and a member of AAAS.

Hugh Morgan, an attorney on the Mediation Panel of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee, serves as Secretary to the Board. He joined Kramer Rayson LLP in 1967 after graduating from UT College of Law and the U.S. Military Academy. Mr. Morgan has considerable litigation experience in state and federal courts, including cases involving negligence, premises liability, products liability, construction industry disputes, trade secret disputes, non-competition contract disputes, and complex estate litigation. He also has experience drafting and negotiating contracts, negotiating and closing commercial transactions, and representing parties in mergers and acquisitions.

Paul Martin is the chief managing member of Clarity Resources, LLC, a Knoxville, Tennessee-based mentor capital company and also acted as Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer for Pro2Serve. He has more than 30 years of corporate financial experience and has been instrumental in the success of several emerging companies and corporate turnarounds. Mr. Martin is licensed to practice law in the state and federal courts of Tennessee and was named a 2001 Distinguished Alumni of Middle Tennessee State University.

Alan Wade serves as President of Wade Associates, Inc. He retired from federal service as the Chief Information Officer at the end of 2005 after a 35-year career in the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). He held a series of other senior positions at the CIA, including the Director of Communications and the Director of Security. In his assignment as Chief Information Officer, he was dual-hatted as the Chief Information Officer for the U.S. Intelligence Community. He is a recipient of the National Intelligence Distinguished Service Medal, the Director’s Medal, and the Distinguished Intelligence Medal. He served on the Boards of Safeboot N.V. (acquired by McAfee in 2007) and Detica DFI (acquired by BAE Systems in 2008). He currently serves on the Boards of the Aerospace Corporation in El Sequndo, CA, Composite Software in San Mateo, CA, Chiliad Inc. in Washington, DC, and IdenTrust Inc. in San Francisco, CA. Additionally, he serves on public sector advisory boards of several technology companies, on the Advisory Board of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Virginia Tech, and on the Board of the Organization of Retired CIA officers.